Last up-date: September 2008

Seikel Motorsport is a successful and worldwide known german racing team, founded in 1968 by Peter Seikel.

After driving for a few years in the National Championship, Peter begun his international career in the FIA European Touring car championship and clinched the gr N titles in 1979 and 1980 with Audi. After an official partnership with Honda at the end of the ‘80s, Seikel Motorsport entered in 1994 the BPR Global GT endurance series as the Le Mans 24hrs with a 968 Porsche.

Running the Porsche GT2, the team would earn class wins at the 6 Hours of Vallelunga and 1000km Monza and multiple podium finishes. But the best achievement is the class win at the 2001 24 Hours of Le Mans with a Porsche 996 GT3 RS. The team has also marked outstanding results in the FIA-GT (3rd overall at the 2003 24 hours of Spa) and American Le Mans (two podiums in a row at the 12 hrs of Sebring in 2002 and 2003). In 2005, the team entered the Le Mans Endurance Series with one 996 RSR Porsche and finished twice on the podium (Monza and Istanbul) with the austrians Horst Felbermayr snr and jnr and the american Philip Collin. In 2006 the team partnered another german team, to finish 2nd of the GT2 class at Le Mans.

The Seikel cars have always been recognised for their reliability and rigorous preparation. In 2001 the crew won the “prix Escra” for the quality of their interventions during the Le Mans 24h, the world’s most prestigious and difficult endurance race.

Peter Seikel officially retired in 2007 at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, officially ending the team as well.

Webmaster: Lucian Sonea